Ferrol - Urban History
Ships on active duty in the Spanish Navy (1716-60)

The graph shows the changing number of ships on active duty in the Spanish Navy, and documents the first two stages of the naval policy devised by the Bourbon dynasty: the years after the decree of 1726, establishing the headquarters for the three new naval departments; and the decade of the 1750s, a result of the plans laid down by the Marquis of Ensenada. In the first stage that policy was directed towards the Mediterranean, in the second towards the Atlantic; and in both cases centre stage was taken by the 'new technologies' of the time, the 'ships of the line' which carried more than 50 guns.

J. M. Jover (dir), Historia de España. Tomo XXIX: La época de los primeros Borbones (Madrid, 1987), Ed. Espasa