Announcing the Elinor Ostrom Prize Competition

Elinor Ostrom Prize E Ostrom

A prize of £1000 is awarded each year for the best full-length article published in the Journal of Institutional Economics in the preceding calendar year.

Each annual prize competition will be judged by an international committee of experts in the field of institutional research. The award is funded by the Foundation for European Economic Development. Approval to use the Ostrom name has been obtained from the Indiana University Foundation.

2016 Elinor Ostrom Prize

Shortlisted for the 2015 prize are:

JOIE Issue 11(1), March 2015

Roger Koppl, Stuart Kauffman, Teppo Felin, and Giuseppe Longo, “Economics for a creative world”

JOIE Issue 11(2), June 2015

Ugo Pagano and Massimiliano Vatiero, “Costly institutions as substitutes: Novelty and limits of the Coasian approach”

JOIE Issue 11(3), September 2015

Frank Hindriks and Francesco Guala, “Institutions, rules, and equilibria: A unified theory”

Giovanni Dosi and Luigi Marengo, “The dynamics of organizational structures and performances under diverging distributions of knowledge and different power structures”

Cass R. Sunstein and Reid Hastie, “Garbage in, garbage out? Some micro sources of macro errors”

Access all five shortlisted articles without charge here

2015 Elinor Ostrom Prize

The award for the 2015 Elinor Ostrom Prize was made at the WINIR Conference on 12 September 2015 in Rio de Janeiro in Brazil.

The winner of the 2015 Elinor Ostrom Prize is:

Daniel H. Cole, Graham Epstein and Michael McGinnis Digging deeper into Hardin’s pasture: The complex institutional structure of the ‘tragedy of the commons’” – JOIE 10(3) Sep 2014.

The jury for the 2015 Elinor Ostrom Prize competition consisted of Bruno Amable, Christopher Coyne, David Dequech, Thrainn Eggertsson, Will Milberg, Ugo Pagano, and Malcolm Rutherford. They selected the best full-length article published in the Journal of Institutional Economics in 2014.

Shortlisted for the 2015 prize were:

  • John Buchanan, Dominic Chai and Simon Deakin, “Empirical analysis of legal institutions and institutional change: multiple-methods approaches and their application to corporate governance research” – JOIE 10(1) Mar 2014
  • Xavier Hollandts and Virgile Chassignon, “Who are the owners of the firm: shareholders, employees or no-one?” – JOIE 10(1) Mar 2014
  • Juha Hiedanpää and Daniel W. Bromley, “Payments for environmental services: Durable habits, dubious nudges, doubtful efficacy” – JOIE 10(2) Jun 2014
  • Daniel H. Cole, Graham Epstein and Michael McGinnis, “Digging Deeper into Hardin’s Pasture: The Complex Institutional Structure of the ‘Tragedy of the Commons’” – JOIE 10(3) Sep 2014
  • Valentin Seidler, “When do institutional transfers work? The relation between institutions, culture and the transplant effect: the case of Bornu in north-eastern Nigeria.” – JOIE 10(3) Sep 2014

Access the shortlisted articles here

2014 Elinor Ostrom Prize

The first Elinor Ostrom Prize 2014 for the best full-length article published in the Journal of Institutional Economics in 2013 was awarded at the conference of the World Interdisciplinary Network for Institutional Research, in Greenwich, London, UK on 11-14 September 2014.


The 2014 Elinor Ostrom Prize was awarded to Fabio Landini for his article “Institutional change and information production” – JOIE 9(3) Sep 2013


These other articles were shortlisted:

·         Richard Grabowski, “The formation of growth coalitions: The role of the rural sector” – JOIE 9(3) Sep 2013

·         Francisco Beltrán Tapia, “Enclosing literacy? Common lands and human capital in Spain, 1860-1930” – JOIE 9(4) Dec 2013

·         Stefan Voigt, "How (not) to measure institutions" – JOIE 9(1) Mar 2013