PS: Political Science & Politics

Association News

2012–2013 APSA Minority Fellows Named

In recognition of their outstanding academic and personal achievements, APSA is pleased to announce the APSA Minority Fellows for the 2012–13 academic year. The APSA Minority Fellows Program (MFP) was established in 1969 as an effort to increase the number of minority scholars in the discipline and has designated more than 400 fellows and contributed to the successful completion of doctoral political science programs for more than 100 individuals. APSA has refocused and increased its efforts to assist minority students in completing their doctorates by concentrating not only on the recruitment of minorities, but also on the retention of these groups within the profession. The MFP designates up to 12 stipend minority fellows each year. Fellows with stipends receive a $4,000 fellowship that is disbursed in two $2,000 payments—one at the end of their first graduate year and one at the end of their second—provided that they remain in good academic standing. Awards are based on students' undergraduate course work, GPA, extracurricular activities, GRE scores, and recommendations from faculty. Members of the selection committee for this year's fellows included Irasema Coronado, University of Texas, El Paso, Committee on the Status of Latinos and Latinas in the Profession; Eric L. McDaniel, University of Texas, Austin, Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession; and Wendy K. Tam Cho, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Committee on Asian Pacific Americans in Political Science. Learn more about the program by visiting This year's APSA Minority Fellows are described here.