Behavioral and Brain Sciences



Open Peer Commentary

Believing is seeing in schizophrenia: The role of top-down processing


Duje Tadin a1, Peiyan Wong a1, Michael W. Mebane a1, Michael J. Berkowitz a1, Hollister Trott a1 and Sohee Park a1
a1 Department of Psychology, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37240 duje.tadin@vanderbilt.edu peiyan.wong@vanderbilt.edu michael.w.mebane@vanderbilt.edu michael.j.berkowitz@vanderbilt.edu Hollister.trott@vanderbilt.edu sohee.park@vanderbilt.edu http://www.psy.vanderbilt.edu/faculty/sohee/

Abstract

The etiology of visual hallucinations is largely undetermined in schizophrenia. Collerton et al.'s PAD model partly concurs with what we know about neurocognition in schizophrenia, but we need to specify the types of perceptual and attentional abnormalities that are implicated in recurrent complex visual hallucinations (RCVH). Available data suggest that abnormal attentional control and top-down processing play a larger role than the ventral stream deficits.