Behavioral and Brain Sciences



Short Communication

Digging beneath Rules and Similarity


Arthur B. Markman a1, Sergey Blok a1, Kyungil Kim a1, Levi Larkey a1, Lisa R. Narvaez a1, C. Hunt Stilwell a1 and Eric Taylor a1
a1 Department of Psychology, University of Texas, Austin, TX 78712 markman@psy.utexas.edu blok@psy.utexas.edu kyungil@psy.utexas.edu larkey@mail.utexas.edu grimmlr@mail.utexas.edu stilwell@psy.utexas.edu eric@gregalo.com http://www.psy.utexas.edu/psy/faculty/markman/index.html

Abstract

Pothos suggests dispensing with the distinction between rules and similarity, without defining what is meant by either term. We agree that there are problems with the distinction between rules and similarity, but believe these will be solved only by exploring the representations and processes underlying cases purported to involve rules and similarity.